Award-Winning Surgeons

Current and past Lincoln Surgical Associates surgeons have been recognized locally and regionally for their work in the medical field.

Favorite Son Award

The Southern Illinois Medical Association, the oldest medical association in Illinois, is dedicated to furthering post-graduate study for physicians of Southern Illinois. Each year, the Association awards the Favorite Son or Daughter Award to a native son or daughter for distinguished advancements toward the betterment of humankind. In 2023, the Favorite Son Award was presented to Lincoln Surgical Associates Founder Dr. Jay W. Haines II.

See what Dr. Haines' Favorite Son Award means to him in the video.

Physician Excellence Award

The Matthew B. Eisele, M.D. Physician Excellence Award from Memorial Hospital/BJC HealthCare is presented annually and selected from nominations submitted by Memorial employees, peers, auxiliary members, and board members. The Physician Excellence Award recognizes a physician on Memorial's medical staff who exemplifies dedication to medicine, delivery of quality care, and a commitment to the community.

In 2023, Kevin Barnett, MD, FACS, received the award. Previous Lincoln Surgical surgeons who have been honored with the Matthew B. Eisele, M.D. Physician Excellence Award are Jay W. Haines II, MD, FACS (2008); James J. Clanahan, MD, FACS (2010); and William R. Casperson, MD, FACS (2020).

Check out the video to learn more about the Matthew B. Eisele, M.D. Physician Excellence Award.